
STATE OF UTAH 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

         DIVISION OF WASTE MANAGEMENT & RADIATION CONTROL
P.O. Box 144880, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4880 

IMPORTANT!  Before filling out form, please read all attached instructions. 
 

1. Company Name: 9. Facility’s Physical Address and Phone # (if different than
company information): 

2. Company’s Physical Address:

3. Company’s Mailing Address:

4. Company Phone #: 10. Name and Title of Contact Person:

5. Company Owner’s Name: 11. Company EPA ID #:

6. Property Owner’s Name: STATE USE ONLY 

Permit Filing Fee ($100) paid               Yes               No        
Permit number:  

Used Oil Handler Certificate ($100) paid           
Yes No 

Permit Number: 

7. Property Owner’s Address:

8. Property Owner’s Telephone #:

12. If property is leased, a copy of the lease agreement must be submitted in addition to a letter from the owner

of the property addressed to the Director of the Division of Waste Management & Radiation Control explaining 

that he/she is aware and approves of the lessee’s intent to apply for a Used Oil Transporter Permit and the 

activities that will be occurring on his/her property. 

13. If used oil is going to be transported by railcar, a copy of the lease agreement with the applicable Railroad

must be submitted. 

14. Describe in detail your operations in the collection, storage, and delivery of used oil.

15. Describe in detail your methods of disposing of any waste liquids, sludge or other solids.  Please include a

copy of the POTW permit.  Please provide the name, address, and telephone # of the solid waste facility used for 

the disposal of the above listed materials.    

16. R315-15-13.4 requires the following information also be included with the permit application:

a. Detailed map of the transfer facility with storage vessels clearly identified.

b. Type of secondary containment and volume, including type and number of storage vessels to be

used.

PERMIT APPLICATION FOR USED OIL TRANSFER FACILITY



c. Copies of business license and zoning permit, and, if applicable, any other licenses and permits

required by federal, state and local government entities.

d. A detailed emergency spill containment plan.  Please refer to R315-15-9 and R315-15-13.4

e. Submit a duplicate signed original of liability insurance or other acceptable proof of financial

responsibility for any liability resulting from the transportation of used oil and environmental

pollution legal liability insurance for accidental spill or mishandling of used oil, e.g,, bodily

injury, property damage, and damage to third parties, incurred from the collection and

transportation of used oil.  At a minimum, the amount of environmental pollution liability

insurance required is $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 in the annual aggregate. Include

the expiration or anniversary date of insurance policies. Policy shall have the Utah Used Oil

Pollution Liability Insurance Endorsement for Sudden Occurrences.

f. Analysis plan detailing used oil testing procedures and how rebuttable presumption requirements

will be met (R315-15- 4.5).

g. A closure plan meeting the requirements of R315-15-11.

   h .   Proof and amount of reclamation surety sufficient to assure reclamation of the facility in 

           accordance with R315-15-12.4 and R315-15-11.1. 

 The Company owner or his/her designated representative must sign this form. 

 I certify under penalty of law that the application and all attachments were prepared by me or under my direction or supervision. The 
information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate and complete.  I am aware that there are significant 
penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of a fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. 

Name __________________________________________ Title______________________________________ 

Signature Date ________________________________________   

FORM UO12 (7/16) 



INSTRUCTIONS 

1. This form shall be used to apply to the Utah Division of  Waste Management & Radiation Control for a permit to act as a
Used Oil Transfer Facility.

2. Used Oil Transfer Facility is addressed in Utah Standards for the Management of Used Oil, R315-15. Copies of the Rules can be
ordered from the Utah Division of  Waste Management & Radiation Control, P.O. Box 144880, Salt Lake City, Utah.
84114-4880. The Rules are also posted on the web at: http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r315/r315-015.htm

3. If the company registering has not received an EPA ID Number, completion and submittal of this form to the Executive Secretary
of the Utah Division of  Waste Management & Radiation Control Board will satisfy the requirements as found in R315-15-7.4(b)(2) and
an EPA           ID Number will be issued to the company.

4. Type or print neatly in ink.

FEES
• A one-time filing fee of $100 is required and must be attached with each permit application.

• A registration fee of $100 is also required to obtain a Used Oil Handler Certificate that is necessary to operate as a Used Oil
Transfer Facility in Utah.   This is an annual registration fee that will need to be renewed by December 31 of each calendar year.
This fee must also be attached.

• The Permittee will be billed for actual costs associated with the review of the permit application, permit preparation and publishing
a public notice in two local newspapers to initiate the required 15-day public comment period on the proposed permit.

DEFINITIONS 
! USED OIL - any oil refined from crude oil or synthetic oil, that has been used and as a result of that use is contaminated by

 physical or chemical impurities. 

! USED OIL TRANSFER FACILITY- any transportation –related facility, including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas, and

other areas where shipments of used oil are held for more than 24 hours during the normal course of transportation and not 

longer than 35 days. 

A permitted used oil transfer facility shall maintain a complete record of all analyses and transactions, documented by 

reproducible receipts for three years; and, upon request, make available to the Division for inspection or photocopying, all 

applicable analyses, records, and receipts for purposes of review and audit. 

Permitted used oil transfer facilities shall submit an annual report to the Division of  Waste Management & Radiation 

Control activities during the calendar year.  The annual report shall be submitted to the Division no later than March 1 of 

the year following the reported activities. 

The owner or operator shall notify the Division of  Waste Management & Radiation Control in writing of any changes in the 

information submitted to apply for a permit within 20 days prior to change. 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r315/r315%1e015.htm
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