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June 25, 2014 
 
Dear Title V Fee Stakeholder: 
 
The Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ) is investigating the restructuring of the Title V program fees. 
Currently we charge each Title V source a dollar per ton fee per each ton of emissions up to 4,000 tons per 
each pollutant. The restructured fee would allow for variable fees to be charged for different pollutants 
(such as hazardous air pollutants), raise the fee cap, and provide for a minimum fee to be charged for small 
Title V area sources.   
 
DAQ is proposing to change the Utah State Statute at 19-2-109.1 so that we are able to propose the 
restructured fees in our annual budget request to the legislature. The statute changes would allow for the 
following fees to be requested each year:  

- Continue to Charge a per ton fee for criteria pollutants (currently approved at $59.06 per ton for 
FY2015) 

- Charge a per ton fee greater than the criteria pollutant fee for each ton of Hazardous Air Pollutant 
(HAP) emitted (i.e. $150.00 per ton of HAP emitted) 

- Charge a minimum fee of $250.00 per year for any source that is billed, where the tonnage based 
fee falls below $250.00 

- Raise the tonnage cap from the current 4000 tons to 7000 tons per pollutant (for FY2016 we 
project there will be 2 different sources that will have a total of 4 pollutants reach the cap level) 

 
Due to a projected large decrease in chargeable pollution emissions for 2015, and under the current system 
(charging the same fee for all pollutants, 4000 ton cap, and no minimum fee), the fee for FY2016 will need 
to be increased to $72.84 per ton of emissions, a $13.78 increase. The new fee structure would allow the 
criteria pollutant fee to be reduced by $1.00 to $2.00 per ton, and still maintain full program funding.   
 
A stakeholder meeting to discuss this proposal will be held Monday July 14, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. in the 
DEQ 1st floor board room, Room 1015, of the Multi State Office Building (MASOB).  The MASOB is 
located at 195 North 1950 West, in Salt Lake City.  You may also participate in the meeting by 
calling in to 1-877-820-7831, then dial 915298# to access the meeting.   
 
For any questions concerning the Title V fee restructuring, contact David Beatty, Operating Permits 
Manager at dbeatty@utah.gov  or 801-536-4060.   
 
Additional information is available on the following web site: 
http://www.deq.utah.gov/Permits/air/titlevpermits/index.htm 
As more information becomes available it will be added to the web page. 
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