Search all of DEQ Main Menu Utah Department of Environmental Quality
Secondary Navigation

DEQ At A Glance

Executive Director's Office

Provides Departmental Leadership

Alan Matheson

Executive Director
Alan Matheson
(801) 536-0095
amatheson@utah.gov

 

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
Telephone Number: (801) 536-0095
Fax Number:(801) 536-0061
TDD Number: (801) 346-4128 or 711
DEQ Website
Our Mission, Vision, & Values
Brad Johnson

Deputy Director
Brad Johnson
(801) 536-0095
btjohnson@utah.gov

 

Scott Baird

Deputy Director
Scott Baird
(801) 536-0095
scottbaird@utah.gov

Jenny Potter
Executive Assistant
(801) 536-0095
jmpotter@utah.gov
     
  • Directs planning and policy development within the Department.
  • Supports implementation of State and Federal environmental laws, rules, and regulations.
  • Maintains State primacy for implementing Federal programs.
  • Implements community affairs and outreach programs.
  • Provides technical and policy recommendations to the Governor and Legislature.
  • Coordinates Department programs with Local Health Departments.
  • Provides general services and program support.
  • Coordinates public affairs.
  • Coordinates budget and financial accounting.
  • Provides human resource management services.

Program Contacts

Business Assistance
Paul Harding
(801) 536-4108 | pharding@utah.gov
Local Health Liaison/Planning
Renette Anderson
(801) 536-4478 | renetteanderson@utah.gov

Office of Attorney General Environmental Division

Craig Jones

Division Chief
Craig Anderson
(801) 536-0286

craiganderson@utah.gov

Legal Secretary
Shane Bekkemellom
(801) 536-0295 | sbekkemellom@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 140873
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
Telephone Number: (801) 536-0290

 

Program Contacts

Assistant Attorney General
Sandra Allen
(801) 536-4122 | skallen@utah.gov

Assistant Attorney General
Connie Nakahara
(801) 536-0285 | cnakahara@utah.gov

Assistant Attorney General
Melissa Hubbell
(801) 536-0284 | mhubbell@utah.gov
Assistant Attorney General
Christian Stephens
(801) 536-4137 | cstephens@utah.gov
Assistant Attorney General
Laura Lockhart
(801) 536-0283 | llockhart@utah.gov

Assistant Attorney General
Marina Thomas
(801) 536-0289 | marinathomas@utah.gov

Assistant Attorney General
Paul McConkie
(801) 536-0288 | pmcconkie@utah.gov
Assistant Attorney General
Ramond Wixom
(801) 536-0213 | rwixom@utah.gov
Assistant Attorney General
Kimberlee McEwan
(801) 536-4114 | kmcewan@utah.gov
Paralegal
Cindy Howard
(801) 536-0287 | choward@utah.gov

Office of Human Resource Management

Provides Departmental Recruitment, Training, Payroll, Trip Reduction, Classification, and Other Personnel Services

HR Manager
Larene Wyss
(801) 536-4284
lwyss@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
Telephone Number: (801) 297-3828
Fax Number: (801) 536-4273
TDD Number: (800) 346-4128 or 711

Program Contacts

Human Resource Analyst
Ashley Nelsen
(801) 536-4285 | anelsen@utah.gov
 
Human Resources Specialist
Sharyn Dobson
(801) 536-4281 | sharyndobson@utah.gov
 

Office of Planning and Public Affairs

Promotes Environmental Planning, Pollution Prevention, and Public Participation

Donna Spangler

Communications Director
Donna Spangler
(801) 536-4484

dspangler@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4400

Environmental Hotline
(800) 458 0145
DEQ Info E-mail: deqinfo@utah.gov

Program Contacts

Communications Specialist
Jared Mendenhall
(801) 536-4482 | jmendenhall@utah.gov
Policy Analyst/Communications Specialist
Christine Osborne
(801) 536-4185 | cosborne@utah.gov
Web Coordinator
Terry Davis
(801) 536-4274 | red5@utah.gov
Web Specialist
Jodie Swanson
(801) 536-0045 | jswanson@utah.gov

Office of Support Services

Provides Budgetary and Accounting Support Services to the Department

Craig Silotti

Director
Craig Silotti
(801) 536 4460
csilotti@utah.gov

Executive Secretary
Laurie Leib
(801) 536-4440
lleib@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4440
Fax Number: (801) 536-4441

Program Contacts

Purchasing, Accounts Payable, Travel
Valerie Warr, Manager
(801) 536-4447 | vwarr@utah.gov
Budget, Financial Reporting, Grants
Dale Jorgensen, Manager
(801) 536-4445 | dsjorgensen@utah.gov
General Services
Diane Hernandez, Manager
(801) 536-4449 | dhernandez@utah.gov
Records Management
Laurie Leib
(801) 536-4440 | lleib@utah.gov

Division of Air Quality

Protects Public Health and the Environment From the Harmful Effects of Air Pollution

bbird

Director
Bryce Bird
(801) 536-4064
bbird@utah.gov

Deputy Director
Brock LeBaron
(801) 536-4006
blebaron@utah.gov

Administrative Secretary
Melissa Yazhe
(801) 536-4022
myazhe@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144820
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4000
Fax Number: (801) 536-4099
DAQ Website
Air Quality Board

Authorities

  • Federal Clean Air Act Amendments
  • Utah Air Conservation Act

Program Contacts

Air Monitoring
Bo Call, Manager
(801) 536-4215 | bocall@utah.gov
Planning
Dave McNeill, Branch Manager
(801) 536-4037 | dmcneill@utah.gov
Compliance
Rusty Ruby, Branch Manager
(801) 536-4133 | rruby@utah.gov
Permitting
Regg Olsen, Branch Manager
(801) 536-4165 | rdolsen@utah.gov
Records Officer
Jeanell Collings
(801) 536-4067 | jcollings@utah.gov
 

Division of Drinking Water

Oversees State's Public Drinking Water Systems; Protects Public Against Waterborne Health Risks Through Assistance, Education and Oversight

Director
Marie Owens
(801) 536-4207
mowens@utah.gov

Administrative Secretary
Marianne Booth
(801) 536-4208
mbooth@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144830
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4200
Fax Number: (801) 536-4211
DDW Website
Drinking Water Board

Authorities

  • Utah Safe Drinking Water Act
  • Federal Safe Drinking Water Act

Program Contacts

Construction Assistance
Michael Grange, Program Manager
(801) 536-0060 | mgrange@utah.gov
Rules-Enforcement
Patti Fauver, Program Manager
(801) 536-4196 | pfauver@utah.gov
Administrative Services
Kate Johnson, Program Manager
(801) 536-4206 | katej@utah.gov

Rules-Implementation
Rachael Cassady
(801) 536-4467 | rcassady@utah.gov

Field Services
Kim Dyches, Program Manager
(801) 536-4202 | kdyches@utah.gov
Secretary/Records Officer
Shaunna Heuser
(801) 536-4190 | sheuser@utah.gov
Engineering
Ying Ying Macauley, Program Manager
(801) 536-4188 | ymacauley@utah.gov
 

Division of Environmental Response and Remediation

Implements Waste Cleanup Plans and Environmental Responses

Brent Everett

Director
Brent Everett
(801) 536 4171
beverett@utah.gov

Administrative Secretary
Elisa Smith
(801) 536-4120
edsmith@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144840
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4100
Fax Number: (801) 359-8853
24-Hour Emergency Response Number: (801) 536-4123
DERR Website
Solid and Hazardous Waste Control Board

Authorities

  • Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act (Superfund)
  • Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (SARA Title 3)
  • Subtitle I of Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
  • Underground Storage Tank Program
  • Voluntary Cleanup Program
  • Brownfields Redevelopment Program

Program Contacts

Underground Storage Tanks
Therron Blatter, Branch Manager
(801) 536-4141 | tblatter@utah.gov
Voluntary Cleanup/Brownfields Program
Bill Rees
(801) 536-4167 | brees@utah.gov
Superfund Branch
Duane Mortensen, Branch Manager
(801) 536-4172 | dmortensen@utah.gov
Spills, Chemical/Toxic Release Inventories
Melissa Ottley
(801) 536-0026 | mottley@utah.gov
Superfund Community Relations
Dave Allison
(801) 536-4479 | dallison@utah.gov
Records Coordinator (Archiving/Retention/GRAMA Requests)
Jennifer Nelson
(801) 536-4157 | jennifernelson@utah.gov

Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control

Ensures Proper Management of Solid and Hazardous Waste and Protects Utah Citizens from the Harmful Effects of Radiation

Scott Anderson

Director
Scott Anderson
(801) 536-0203
standerson@utah.gov

Deputy Director
Rusty Lundberg
(801) 536-4257
rlundberg@utah.gov

Administrative Secretary
Arlene Lovato
(801) 536-0202
alovato@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144880
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4880
Telephone Number: (801) 536-0200
Fax Number: (801) 536-0222
Used Oil Hotline: (800) 458-0145
DWMRC Website
Waste Management and Radiation Control Board

Authorities

  • Federal Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
  • Utah Radiation Control Act
  • Utah Solid and Hazardous Waste Act
  • Utah Used Oil Management Act
  • Waste Tire Recycling Act

Program Contacts

Corrective Action
Brad Maulding, Manager
(801) 536-0205 | bmaulding@utah.gov
Low Level Radioactive Waste
Don Verbica, Manager
(801) 536-0206 | dverbica@utah.gov

Planning and Technical Support
Vacant, Manager
(801) 536-0212 |(801) 536-

Solid Waste Landfills, Used Tires
Allan Moore, Manager
(801) 536-0211 | allanmoore@utah.gov
Hazardous Waste/Used Oil
Deborah Ng, Manager
(801) 536-0218 | dng@utah.gov

Uranium Mills Radioactive Materials
Phil Goble, Manager
(801) 536-4044 | Phil Goble

Records Officer
Jerry Rogers
(801) 536-0228 | jerry@utah.gov
 

Division of Water Quality

Protects Surface and Groundwater Quality to Allow Beneficial Uses and to Protect Public Health

Walt Baker

Director
Walt Baker
(801) 536-4312
wbaker@utah.gov

Support Staff Supervisor
Jenny Pruitt
(801) 536-4311
jenpruitt@utah.gov

Office Location
195 North 1950 West
P.O. Box 144870
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870
Telephone Number: (801) 536-4300
Fax Number: (801) 536-4301
DWQ Website
Water Quality Board

Authorities

  • Utah Water Quality Act
  • Federal Clean Water Act

Program Contacts

Planning and Assessment Branch
Erica Gaddis, Assistant Director
(801) 536-4314 | egaddis@utah.gov
Engineering, Permitting, and Compliance Branch
Vacant, Assistant Director
(801) 536-4318 |
Monitoring and Reporting Section
James Harris, Manager
(801) 536-4360 | jamesharris@utah.gov
Engineering Section
John Mackey, Manager
(801) 536-4347 | jkmackey@utah.gov
Standards and Technical Service Section
Jodi Gardberg, Manager
(801) 536-4372 | jgardberg@utah.gov
Groundwater Protection Section
Dan Hall, Manager
(801) 536-4356 | dhall@utah.gov
Watershed Protection Section
Carl Adams, Manager
(801) 536-4330 | carladams@utah.gov
Storm Water Permitting Section
Jeff Studenka, Manager
(801) 536-4395 | jstudenka@utah.gov
Surface Water Permitting Section
Kim Shelley, Manager
(801) 536-4385 | kshelley@utah.gov
Business Assistance
Paul Harding
(801) 536-4108 | pharding@utah.gov
Records Officer
Jenny Potter
(801) 536-43111 | jmpotter@utah.gov
 

District Engineers

Central Utah

Juab, Millard, Sanpete, Sevier, Piute, and Wayne Counties

John Chartier
Phone: (435) 896-5451 ext. 314
Fax: (435) 896-4353
Office Location
c/o Central Utah Public Health Department
70 Westview Drive
Richfield, UT 84701

Southeast Utah

Carbon, Emery, Grand, and San Juan Counties

Scott Hacking
Phone: (435) 636-1163
Cell: (435) 559-3825
Fax: (435) 637-1933

Office Location
Southeastern Utah Health Dept.
28 South 100 East
Price, UT 84501

 

Southwest Utah

Beaver, Iron, Garfield, Washington, and Kane Counties

J. Paul Wright
Phone: (435) 986-2590
Fax: (435) 986-2595
Office Location
Southwest Utah Public Health Department
DEQ Southwest District Engineer
620 South 400 East, #400
St. George, Utah 84770

Tri County Utah

Duchesne, Uintah, and Dagget Counties

Nathan Hall
Phone: (435) 247-1167
Cell: (435) 630-3852
Fax: (435) 781-0537

Office Location
Tri-County Utah Health Dept.
133 South 500 East
Vernal, UT 84078

 

If you have questions, comments, or require more information,
contact the DEQ Public Affairs Office (801) 536-4400