When is the next registration Event?
- Reservations can fill very quickly! Read about refreshing the event page at the designated time.
- Before applying, make sure you are eligible!
Does my home qualify?
- No new homeowners.
- No commercial or rental properties.
- No Retroactive projects.
- No Homeowners who only occasionally burn wood.
- No Gas fireplaces (with or without gas logs)
- Must have a 12-month history of burning (new homeowners NOT qualified).
- Must be the legal owner of the home.
- Fireplaces/wood stoves must be used for significant amount of home heating.
- All purchases, installation, and decommissioning work must be performed by a DAQ authorized dealer.
- Applicants must be the legal owner of the home. Commercial and rental properties are not eligible.
- Applicants are limited to 1 incentive award per household.
- Fireplaces/wood stoves must be used for significant amount of home heating. Homeowners who occasionally burn wood in fireplaces/wood stoves are not eligible for this program.
- Gas fireplaces (with or without gas logs) are NOT eligible!
- All purchases, installation, and decommissioning work must be performed by a DAQ authorized dealer. A list of authorized dealers will be included in the award document.
- Retroactive projects are not eligible. You must have a valid award in hand before beginning this program.
The grant Does Not pay for remodeling and finishing work.
Low-income Household Qualifications:
Applicants may request low-income status if the total household income is equal to or below the levels below.
|Number of exemptions on your federal tax return||Adjusted Gross Household Income|
|Additional exempt add||$11,050|
Program Summary: EPA Grant Program for Utah County and Cache County Only
The Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ), through a grant from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, has developed a wood smoke reduction incentive program for homeowners to reduce wintertime pollution from wood burning in the counties that have failed to meet National Ambient Air Quality Standard for fine particulates.
Financial incentives are available for homeowners who wish to:
- Exchange an operational wood stove (including pellet) for a gas stove (natural gas or propane);
- Convert an operational fireplace to a gas fireplace (natural gas or propane); or
- Exchange an operational uncertified wood stove for an EPA certified wood stove.
- For residential home heating only. Does not apply to attached buildings or garages.
NOTE: This program only applies to gas inserts, NOT gas logs.
|Rebate Amounts for Wood Smoke Reduction Program|
Non low-income households
|1||Any operational wood stove/insert or open fireplace to natural gas- or propane-fueled appliance. Wood stoves MUST be recycled by our vendor as part of this program||$3,800||$2,800|
|2||Operational uncertified wood stove/insert to EPA-certified wood stove/insert. Uncertified wood stove MUST be recycled by our vendor as part of this program||$500||$500|
Program Instructions and Funding
Eligible applicants are issued an award voucher that expire 30 days from the date of issuance unless the recipient enters into contract with a program approved vendor. The project under this program must be completed within 100 days of receiving an award.
Once you enter into contract with our approved vendor, you must give the vendor your award voucher for processing. The vendor will reduce the cost of the purchase per the DAQ award voucher at the time of purchase. Reimbursements are paid directly to the DAQ approved vendors.
- Stove Swap
- (385) 306-6535
Looking for information about Salt Lake County?
Subscribe to our email list so we can keep you updated.