Search all of DEQ Main Menu Utah Department of Environmental Quality
Secondary Navigation

Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES) Permits

The Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES) is the Utah version of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES), which is the permit system mandated by ยง 402 of the Clean Water Act to control pollutants in waters of the U.S., including storm water. The Utah Storm Water Program is part of the UPDES Program. The Storm Water Program regulates storm water discharges from three potential sources:

  1. Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s)
  2. Construction Activities
  3. Industrial Activities

Operators of these sources may be required to obtain a Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES) Storm Water permit before they can discharge. The purpose of the permit is to prevent storm water runoff from washing harmful pollutants into local surface waters such as streams, rivers, or lakes.

Utah Storm Water Advisory Committee (USWAC)

The Utah Storm Water Advisory Committee (USWAC) was formed on December 9, 2003. The Committee Serves as an agent to address a variety of storm water issues statewide, including Phase I and Phase II Implementation, Underground Injection Wells for Storm Water, SW Treatment Design Criteria, and Storm Water Education.

2018 Committee Chair

Tom Beesley, Riverton City

Mission Statement

The Utah Storm Water Advisory Committee will coordinate their efforts to reduce storm water pollution and provide adequate flood control. The committee will evaluate and define governing regulations, disseminate information, promote efficient training, and assist local municipalities and other interested parties to implement best management practices that are consistent with their individual needs and resources. The committee will also support efforts of State and federal agencies to implement necessary storm water regulations that are economically feasible.

Storm Water Resources

Fact Sheets

Best Management Practices (BMPs)

Low Impact Development

Phase II

EPA Resource List of Storm Water Sites

Program Contacts


Harry Campbell (801) 536-4391

Customer Service Specialist

Monique Bridges (801) 536-4319


Mike George (801) 536-4393


Jeanne Riley (801) 536-4369


Trisha DiPaola(801) 536-4193

Storm Water Specialist

Lisa Stevens (801) 536-4386

For approved regulatory agency use only: