COVID-19: Offices of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality are open. In an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19, we are limiting person-to-person contact. Please contact DEQ here to conduct business.

DEQ At A Glance

DEQ’s mission is, “Safeguarding and improving Utah’s air, land and water through balanced regulation.” We implement State and federal environmental laws and work with individuals, community groups, and businesses to protect the quality of our air, land and water.

Your interest and involvement can make a difference. We hope this Website provides you with easy access to information as we continue our partnership to enhance Utah’s environment. Read more about our Mission, Vision, and Values …

Executive Director’s Office

Provides Departmental Leadership

Kim Shelley

Executive Director Kimberly D. Shelley
(801) 536-4404

Becky Larsen

Executive Assistant Becky Larsen
(801) 536-0095

P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
  • Directs planning and policy development within the Department.
  • Supports implementation of State and Federal environmental laws, rules, and regulations.
  • Maintains State primacy for implementing Federal programs.
  • Implements community affairs and outreach programs.
  • Provides technical and policy recommendations to the Governor and Legislature.
  • Coordinates Department programs with Local Health Departments.
  • Provides general services and program support.
  • Coordinates public affairs.
  • Coordinates budget and financial accounting.
  • Provides human resource management services.

Program Contacts

Craig Anderson

Division Chief: Craig Anderson
(801) 536-0286

Office of Attorney General Environment Division

Provides legal support and services for the Department

P.O. Box 140873
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
  • Administrative Legal Secretary: Shane Bekkemellom (801) 536-0295
  • Phone: (801) 536-0290

Program Contacts

Larene Wyss

Larene Wyss
(801) 503-5618

Office of Human Resource Management

Provides Departmental Recruitment, Training, Payroll, Trip Reduction, Classification, and Other Personnel Services

P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810

Program Contacts

  • Employee Liability, FMLA, ADA, Ergonomic Assessments: LeAnn Johnson (385) 226-4881
  • Recruitment and Classification: Crystal Haywood (801) 536-4281

Information Technology Director: Bill Boudreau
(801) 536-0074

Department of Technology Services

Provides Information Technology support and services for the department.

P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810

Program Contacts

  • Help Desk: (801) 538-8775
  • Infrastructure, Hosting, Desktop Support: Joe Tripp (801) 538-4042
  • Application Development & Maintenance: Mike Casey (801) 536-4455

Chris Otto: Director of Policy, Planning and Public Affairs

Director: Chris Otto
(801) 536-4404

Policy, Planning & Public Affairs

Promotes Environmental Planning, Pollution Prevention, and Public Participation Info Email:

P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810

Program Contacts

Craig Silotti

Director: Craig Silotti
(801) 536 4460

Office of Support Services

Provides Budgetary and Accounting Support Services to the Department

P.O. Box 144810
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4810
  • Phone: (801) 536-4440
  • Fax: (801) 536-4441

Program Contacts

  • Purchasing, Accounts Payable, Travel: Valerie Warr, Manager (801) 536-4447
  • Budget, Financial Reporting, Grants: Dale Jorgensen, Manager (801) 536-4445
  • General Services: Derick Cooper, Manager (801) 536-0467

Division of Air Quality

P.O. Box 144820
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4820
Phone: (801) 536-4000
Fax: (801) 536-4099

Director: Bryce Bird
(801) 536-4064

Division of Air Quality

Protects Public Health and the Environment From the Harmful Effects of Air Pollution


  • Federal Clean Air Act Amendments
  • Utah Air Conservation Act

Program Contacts

Division of Drinking Water

P.O. Box 144830
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4830
Phone: (801) 536-4200
Fax: (801) 536-4211

Director: Tim Davis
(801) 536-4207

Division of Drinking Water

Oversees State’s Public Drinking Water Systems; Protects Public Against Waterborne Health Risks Through Assistance, Education and Oversight


  • Utah Safe Drinking Water Act
  • Federal Safe Drinking Water Act

Program Contacts

Division of Environmental Response and Remediation
P.O. Box 144840
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4840
Phone: (801) 536-4100
Fax: (801) 359-8853
Brent Everett, Director

Director: Brent Everett
(801) 536 4171

Division of Environmental Response and Remediation

Implements Waste Cleanup Plans and Environmental Responses


  • Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act (Superfund)
  • Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (SARA Title 3)
  • Subtitle I of Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
  • Underground Storage Tank Program
  • Voluntary Cleanup Program
  • Brownfields Redevelopment Program

Program Contacts

Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control
P.O. Box 144880
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4880
Phone: (801) 536-0200
Fax: (801) 536-0222
Ty L. Howard, Director

Director: Ty L. Howard
(801) 536-0203

Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control

Ensures Proper Management of Solid and Hazardous Waste and Protects Utah Citizens from the Harmful Effects of Radiation


  • Federal Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
  • Utah Radiation Control Act
  • Utah Solid and Hazardous Waste Act
  • Utah Used Oil Management Act
  • Waste Tire Recycling Act

Program Contacts

Division of Water Quality
P.O. Box 144870
Salt Lake City, Utah
Phone: (801) 536-4300
Fax: (801) 536-4301
Erica Gaddis, Director

Director: Erica Gaddis
(801) 536-4312

Division of Water Quality

Protects Surface and Groundwater Quality to Allow Beneficial Uses and to Protect Public Health


  • Utah Water Quality Act
  • Federal Clean Water Act

Program Contacts

District Engineers

Central Utah

Juab, Millard, Sanpete, Sevier, Piute, and Wayne Counties

  • John Chartier
  • Phone: (435) 896-5451 ext. 314
  • Fax: (435) 896-4353

Office Location

c/o Central Utah Public Health Department
70 Westview Drive
Richfield, UT 84701

Southeast Utah

Carbon, Emery, Grand, and San Juan Counties

Office Location

Southeastern Utah Health Department
28 South 100 East
Price, UT 84501

Southwest Utah

Beaver, Iron, Garfield, Washington, and Kane Counties

Office Location

Southwest Utah Public Health Department
DEQ Southwest District Engineer
620 South 400 East, #400
St. George, Utah 84770

Tri County Utah

Duchesne, Uintah, and Dagget Counties

  • Nathan Hall
  • Phone: (435) 247-1167
  • Cell: (435) 630-3852
    Fax: (435) 781-0537

Office Location

Tri-County Utah Health Department
133 South 500 East
Vernal, UT 84078

How to Find Us

Utah DEQ Main Building

Office Location

195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84116 Google Maps Link Phone: (801) 536-0095
Fax: (801) 536-0061
TDD Number: (801) 346-4128 or 711

From Interstate 80:

  1. Take the Redwood Road Exit.
  2. Turn north on Redwood Road (1700 West) to North Temple.
  3. Turn west on North Temple to 1950 West.
  4. Turn north on 1950 West to 195 North, located on the west side of the street.

Public parking is available east of the building in the one-way drive through lot.


Public Interest

Contact Us

If you have questions, comments, or require more information, contact the DEQ Public Affairs Office.

The State of Utah is an Equal Opportunity Employer

Hiring is done without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability.

Last updated: April 16, 2021 at 10:16 am
Categories: About DEQ