COVID-19: Offices of the Utah Department of Environmental Quality are open. In an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19, we are limiting person-to-person contact. Please contact DEQ here to conduct business.
News & Announcements
Notice of Official Public Comment Period – R309-405. Administrative Penalty — February 1st to March 3rd
The Division of Drinking Water has begun the process of updating existing Rule R309-405 to align it with amendments the Legislature made to Utah Safe Drinking Water Act in 2020. Additionally, amendments will seek to provide clarity and transparency regarding the Division’s enforcement program. To that end, the proposed rule will include procedures that the director must follow when issuing notices of violation and administrative orders and the adjudication rights available to recipients of those actions. The proposed rule will enumerate the administrative penalty limits for violations of the Safe Drinking Water Act; drinking water rules; and orders, permits, or administrative authorizations issued by the Director. The proposed rule will also set forth the procedure that the Director must follow when proposing and assessing administrative penalties and the rights available to the recipient of a proposed penalty.
At the January 12, 2021 meeting of the Drinking Water Board, the Division recommended changes to R309-405 (48 KB) and was approved to begin the official rulemaking process.
Detailed information on the proposed rule and how to provide public comment can be found here.
The laboratories shown on this map may be able to perform the testing indicated.
The Utah Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is encouraging schools and childcare facilities to apply for funds to test for lead in their drinking water after the agency received a $434,000 Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) grant to cover the cost of
testing. Interested facilities should apply by March 31, 2020, for the best chance to receive grant money.
Join us LIVE every month! Drinking Water presents a topic that is important to drinking water professionals every month. We invite speakers to present about their area of expertise. Watching these 30 minute videos can get you .05 CEUs if you fill out the corresponding form.
(11/5/2018)–The Drinking Water Board has adopted changes effective January 1, 2019, to the Cross Connection Control rules for both water systems and certifications. These changes will have an impact on a water system’s Cross Connection Control program and requirements for Cross Connection Control certifications. Water systems and certified individuals should familiarize themselves with these changes.
(11/26/2018)–Operator Certification and Cross Connection Certification fees changed, effective January 1, 2019.
The Division of Drinking Water is addressing reported issues with culinary water at The Highland Subdivision in Morgan County.
Water System Resources
Can’t find the documents you’re looking for using EZ Records Search? Send us a GRAMA Request (19 KB). Have questions about GRAMA Requests? Contact Linda Ross (801) 536-4205.
P.O. Box 144830
Tim Davis, Director
Salt Lake City, Utah
Phone: (801) 536-4200
FAX: (801) 536-4211
DDW Emergency Incident Response
(24-hour call or text)
Multi Agency State
195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah
Google Maps Link Directions
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.