News and Announcements
Radioactive Materials (RAM) Fee Stakeholder Meetings Concluded
During the months of May and June, DWMRC held stakeholder meetings to present proposed RAM fee changes. Comments received during these meetings were in support of fee increases, which have not occurred in over 30 years. The slides presented during these meetings and a summary of the proposed fee changes are now available. Please note that the in-person meeting in Cedar City scheduled for June 15, 2022, has been canceled due to a lack of registrants. If you have any questions, please contact Phil Goble (firstname.lastname@example.org) at (801) 536-4044.
X-ray Registration and Inspection Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2022
During the 2022 Session of the Utah Legislature an increase in the fees charged for registration and inspection of x-ray machines was approved. The new registration fee is $45 per tube as well as an increase of $10 to each inspection fee. The inspection fee list can be found here and will be updated on the effective date.
New Radiological Incidents & Allegations Page
The Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control (WMRC) works to protect employees and the public from radiation hazards, and we have the responsibility to respond to incidents and allegations involving radiological materials.
- Visit the Radiological Incidents & Allegations page to learn more and how to report these issues to WMRC.
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Waste Management
In 2019, the Utah Legislature made important changes to the Solid and Hazardous Waste Act in response to a U.S. EPA requirement for state solid waste programs to have primary responsibility for management of E&P wastes. Read more and share your input …
EPA Issues Final Rule Revoking All Tolerances for the Insecticide Chlorpyrifos
In response to EPA’s August 2021 final rule revoking all tolerances for the insecticide chlorpyrifos under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA), several objections, hearing requests, and requests for stay were filed by numerous parties representing a wide variety of growers and pesticide users. Effective February 28, 2022, EPA issued an Order that denies all objections to, requests for hearing on those objections, as well as requests for stay of the final rule.
For more information regarding this issue please see the press release from EPA at this link:
EPA Takes Next Step to Keep Chlorpyrifos Out of Food, Protecting Farmworkers and Children’s Health.
For information regarding the disposal of chlorpyrifos products please contact the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food Pesticide Program at 801-982-2300 or visit their website.
The inflation factor/multiplier for 2021, to be used when making adjustments to closure/post-closure cost estimates in 2022, is 1.042.
(12/1/2021)–Waste Management and Radiation Control Newsletter (1.3 MB)
Statewide Recycling Data Initiative
Recycling & solid waste facilities, we need your help!
By participating in our survey, you will be a part of modernizing Utah’s solid waste management and recycling data, supporting the US’s national goal of increasing the recycling rate to 50% by 2030.
- See the Statewide Recycling Data Initiative page for more information.
Division Using New Email List Management Application
In September of 2021 the Division began using a new software application for management of our various email lists. Email messages sent to those who have subscribed to the various email lists will come from the email address email@example.com. These messages may land in your SPAM folder. Please add firstname.lastname@example.org to your contact list to minimize the potential for these messages to be sent to your SPAM folder.
30-Day Storage Extension Request Guidance and FormHeading
In accordance with Utah Administrative Code R315- 262-16(d) for small quantity generators (SQGs) and R315-262-17(b) for large quantity generators (LQGs), a generator may request a 30-day accumulation time limit extension for hazardous waste stored on site longer than the 90-day time frame for LQGs or 180 days (or 270 days if the waste must be transported a distance of 200 miles or more) for SQGs. The Director of the Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control may grant a 30-day extension to qualifying generators that may exceed their time limits due to unforeseen, temporary, and uncontrollable circumstances.
The division has created guidance and a form for requesting a 30-day extension. Although not required by rule, generators are encouraged to use the application form when requesting an extension.
New Pamphlet for Utah Schools on E-cigarette Waste Management
Utah law requires schools to confiscate and properly dispose of electronic cigarette products. Electronic cigarettes contain liquid nicotine or nicotine residue and may contain lithium batteries. Nicotine and lithium ion batteries are hazardous wastes that must be disposed of properly.
A new pamphlet is now available to provide schools with guidance on how to properly manage and dispose of electronic cigarettes.
- Download the pamphlet (2 MB)
New Email Address for Submission of Electronic Documents
The Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control announces a new email address to be used by regulated companies and individuals for submitting documents to the Division in electronic form:
If you are a regulated company or individual and would like to submit documents via email, please use this address.
This email address should not be used by RAM licensees for submission of any document for any reason. See below for reciprocity requests. If you have questions, please call Phil Goble at (801) 536-4044.
This email address should not be used for documents that are required to have a wet signature such as financial assurance documents or for submission of documents that contain proprietary or confidential information.
Public comments will continue to be submitted using the email address: email@example.com.
Reciprocity requests for RAM and X-ray should be submitted to: DWMRCReciprocity@utah.gov
Division of Waste Management and Radiation Control Annual Report (October 2019)
Biennial Hazardous Waste Report
All large quantity hazardous waste generators and treatment, storage, and disposal facilities in the State are required to submit a hazardous waste generation and management report to the Division every even year by March 1.
Household Hazardous Waste Collection Events
Certain counties have collection events where residents can drop off household hazardous waste.
- See the recycling information for Utah to find out if your county is having an event.
Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA)
The Department of Environmental Quality places a high priority on assisting the public when requesting to view our public files. The Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA) requires that we respond to a request within ten working days of its receipt. DWMRC GRAMA Clerk: Alyssa Stringham (firstname.lastname@example.org) (801) 536-4002.
P.O. Box 144880
Salt Lake City, Utah
Phone: (801) 536-0200
FAX: (801) 536-0222
State Office Building
195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.