Division Links

Area Designations:
PM2.5 State Implementation Plan Development

Nonattainment designation is determined by the EPA when an area or areas within a state persistently exceed the National Ambient Air Quality Standards. The EPA has designated “nonattainment areas” for Particulate Matter having an aerodynamic diameter of 2.5 microns (μm) or less (PM2.5). The two EPA designated areas include:

  • Provo, Utah
  • Salt Lake City, Utah (which includes Davis, and parts of Weber, Box Elder, and Tooele Counties)

Utah Nonattainment Map

Including nonattainment area boundaries and the townships and ranges of the legal descriptions.

The following links provide information about the PM2.5 nonattainment designations in Utah.

  • Air Quality Designations for the 2006 24-Hour Fine Particle (PM2.5) National Ambient Air Quality Standards, Final Rule
    Code of Federal Regulations, 40 Part 81. Page 58769 begins the legal descriptions of the nonattainment areas in Utah.
  • PM2.5 Designation Recommendations
    Published on December 18, 2007.

Last Updated:


Back to top