Division Links

Fees and Payments – Air Quality

Make a payment

Pay online

  • $4,000 per transaction
  • Payment links below

For more than $4,000

  • Make multiple online transactions
  • Pay by check or E-check

Pay by check

State of Utah, Division of Air Quality
195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Permitting fees

NSR (New Source Review) – Major & Minor Fees

Related: PBR Registration

Statute 19-2-108(3)(a) requires sources to pay the applicable permitting fees for work performed during the NSR permitting process. The types of fees that are collected are required as pre-payment when submitted with the application and will be required before the application is processed.

Source TypeFiling FeeReview FeeTotal Prepaid FeesBase Hours
New Major PSD with a Major source in nonattainment area$5,000.00$51,750.00$56,750.00Up to 450
New non-PSD Major Source in nonattainment area or Major Modification in nonattainment area$500.00$51,750.00$52,250.00Up to 450
New Major PSD Source$5,000.00$34,500.00$39,500.00Up to 300
New Non PSD Major source in attainment area or Modifications to Major source in attainment area$500.00$34,500.00$35,000.00Up to 300
New Minor Source or Minor Modification at Minor or Major Source$500.00$2,300.00$2,800.00Up to 20
Any unpermitted sources at an existing facility$1,500.00$2,300.00$3,800.00Up to 20
Administrative Amendments$500.00$500.00Hours worked
Generic permit for minor source or modifications of minor sources (source for which engineering review/BACT standardized)$500.00$880.00$1,420.00Up to 8
Name Changes$100.00$115.00 per hour$100.00*
Small Sources Exemptions$250.00$115.00 per hour$250.00*
Soil Remediation$250.00$115.00 per hour$250.00*
Source Determination Letters$250.00$115.00 per hour$250.00*
Temporary Relocations$805.00$805.00Up to 7
Sales/Use Tax Exemptions$115.00 per hour
PERMIT BY RULE Registration
Control not Required$250.00
Control Required$500.00
Minor sources (new or modified) with <3 tpy uncontrolled emissions$575.00$575.00Up to 5
Permitting cost per hour for additional hours over base review hours$115.001 hour
Permitting cost per hour$115.001 hour
Technical review of and assistance given (per hour)$115.001 hour

*Cost of fees updated July 1, 2023

* Remaining amount to be billed upon project completion

  • Filing fee is non-refundable
  • Fees for work being done on an hourly rate will be billed when the project is complete
  • Maintenance or non-attainment areas: Box Elder County, Cache County, Davis County, Duchesne County, Salt Lake County, Tooele County, Uintah County, Utah County, and Weber County
  • Attainment areas: All other permitted areas in the state

Contact

Attainment areas

More info or questions

Alan Humpherys (ahumpherys@utah.gov(385) 306-6520

Annual NSR Fee

In 2020, the Utah Legislature authorized the Utah Division of Air Quality to charge an annual fee to each source that has an NSR Approval Order (Air Quality Permit). *The fee is based on the total potential emissions of the source. The potential emissions of NOx, SO2, PM10, CO and VOC will be added together to determine the total emissions for the fee category.

Emissions in tons per year (tpy)Fee
< 20 tons per year (tpy)$165
20 to 49 tpy$330
50 to 99 tpy$660
100 to 250 tpy$1,100
250 tpy$1,650

*This authorization was done through an annual budget bill passed during the 2020 General Legislative Session. See H.B. 8 at 6669-6677 (2020 General Session); see also S.B. 8 at 7556-7563 (2021 General Session), (S.B. 8 increased the fee for sources less than 20 tpy to $150 and removed fees for PBR sources with controls). Current H.B. 8 (2022 General Session) includes the same fee schedule as S.B. 8 (2021 General Session). See H.B. 8 at 7076-7082 (2022 General Session).

Contact

Alan Humpherys (ahumpherys@utah.gov(385) 306-6520

Annual Emission Fees (Title V)

Annual emission fees are paid by companies subject to the Title V or Operating Permit Program. These companies typically have large emissions, however Title V area source emissions for smaller sources without Title V permits are also chargeable emissions. Visit the operating permit program fact sheet to see if this program may apply to your business. Companies are charged an annual emissions fee based on the amount of pollutants they emit to the air. This fee pays for the administrative cost of the Operating Permit Program. Unlike Approval Order, NOI reviews, there is no additional fee for the issuance of an operating permit, the issuance of an operating permit is included in the annual emissions fee. The fee may be adjusted annually.

The emission fee for fiscal year 2024 (July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024) is $101.75 per ton of emissions.

Contact

David Beatty (dbeatty@utah.gov(385) 306-6532

Lead-based paint fees

Also see: Lead-based paint page

Firm

LBP Firm Certification Application

$275.00/year, up to 5 years

LBP Renovation Firm Certification

$110.00/year, up to 5 years

Individual

Abatement Worker Certification

$110.00/year, up to 5 years

Inspector Certification

$137.50/year, up to 5 years

Inspector, Risk Assessor Certification

$220.00/year, up to 5 years

Renovator (RRP) Certification

$110.00/year, up to 5 years

Abatement

Abatement Project Notification Base Fee

$55 for Owner Occupied Residence,
$165 all others

Abatement Unit Fee/100 units or any fraction thereof up to 10,000 units

$7.70

Abatement Unit Fee/100 units or any fraction thereof more than 10.000 units

$3.85

Renovator (RRP) Certification

$110.00/year, up to 5 years

Trainer

Non-Utah Training Course Provider surcharge

$33 per discipline

Lost Card Replacement

$33

LBP Course Accreditation Fee per hour

$115.00

Asbestos fees

Also see: Asbestos page

Company

Company Certification Application

$275.00/year, up to 5 years

Individual

All disciples: Worker, Supervisor, Inspector, Management Planner & Project Designer
Certification

$137.50

Abatement

Abatement Project Notification Base Fee

$55 for Owner Occupied Residence,
$165 all others

Abatement Unit Fee/100 units or any fraction thereof up to 10,000 units

$7.70

Abatement Unit Fee/100 units or any fraction thereof more than 10.000 units

$3.85

Demolition

Demolition Base Fee

$27.50

Demolition Unit Fee

$55 for every 5000 square feet unit or part thereof

Alternative Work Practice Request (AWPR)

AWPR

$275.50

AWPR for Owner-occupied facilities and Training Course Providers

$115

Trainer

Non-Utah Training Course Provider surcharge

$33 per discipline

Lost Card Replacement

$33

Asbestos Course Accreditation Fee per hour

$115.00

Compliance

Sources are required to pay the applicable fees for work performed during the Compliance process. 

Temporary Relocation Authorization

Fugitive dust

Utah Administrative Code (UAC) 307-309-6 requires that any person owning or operating a source of fugitive dust within PM10 and PM2.5 non-attainment and maintenance plan areas on cleared land greater than 1/4 acre in size must submit a completed Fugitive Dust Control Plan. The DAQ Relocation Form requires the submission of a Fugitive Dust Control Plan Permit Number for all temporary projects operating in these applicable locations.

For temporary projects

Temporary relocation

In accordance with the fee schedule approved by the Utah State Legislature, the Division of Air Quality (DAQ) has been authorized to charge a $805.00 processing fee for each Temporary Relocation Authorization granted for operation within the State of Utah.

$805.00 – pay online or send check

Need help?

(801) 536-4000


Last Updated:

Categories:

Tags:

Back to top