COVID-19: In an effort to reduce the spread of COVID-19, The Utah Department of Environmental Quality is limiting person-to-person contact and will close our offices to the public starting on April 3. Please contact DEQ here to conduct business.

Air Quality Incentive Programs

The Utah Division of Air Quality administers several incentive programs created to encourage individuals and businesses to reduce emissions. The title and a brief summary of each program is listed below. More details regarding qualifications and how to apply for the programs are found by clicking on the appropriate links provided in the table.

Program Description Eligible Region Contact Person
Cache County Vehicle Repair and Replacement Assistance Program (VRRAP) Through the Cache County VRRAP, low-income individuals that live, work, or go to school in Cache County, UT or Franklin County, ID that have a vehicle that would fail an emissions inspection will be offered financial assistance to either repair the vehicle or replace it with a newer, cleaner one. The incentive amounts are as high as $5,000 towards a replacement and up to $1,000 towards repair costs. This program, administered by the Bear River Health Department, is funded by the DAQ through a federal Targeted Air Shed Grant. Cache County, UT and Franklin County, ID Josh Greer (BRHD) Mat Carlile (DAQ)
Clean Air Replacement and Off-Road Technology Program (CARROT) This program provides incentives for emissions reductions from diesel vehicle/equipment and yard equipment. Statewide with priority given in PM2.5 and Ozone Nonattainment areas Courtney Ehrlich
Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit Taxpayers may claim a non-refundable credit on their tax returns for the purchase or conversion of vehicles that use cleaner burning fuels. This tax credit ended on December 31, 2016; however, individuals or business that bought or leased an eligible vehicle on or prior to December 31, 2016 may still qualify for a tax credit. Statewide Mat Carlile
Conversion to Alternative Fuel Grant Program This program allows participants that convert vehicles to run on natural gas, propane, or electricity to apply for a grant of up to $2,500 to offset the cost of installation. Statewide Mat Carlile
Natural Gas Heavy Duty Vehicle Tax Credit Qualified taxpayers may claim a non-refundable tax credit for the purchase of a Category 7 or Category 8 natural gas, 100% electric, or a hydrogen-electric vehicle. These tax credits are limited. Statewide Mat Carlile
Uinta Basin Oil and Gas Engine Exchange This program provides financial assistance for up to 40% off the cost to replace non-road, stationary, gas engines (engine model year 2008 or older) which support oil and gas production. New, replacement engines must meet the most recent new source performance standards required by Subpart JJJJ. Uinta County, UT; Duchesne County, UT Courtney Ehrlich

Sheila Vance

Utah Clean Diesel Program Fleet owners can use this program to replace or upgrade old, dirty diesel vehicles with newer, cleaner options. Statewide, with preference given to PM2.5 and Ozone Nonattainment Areas Lisa Burr
Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Plan The Volkswagen Mitigation Plan creates financial incentives for government entities to replace eligible vehicles and equipment with new, cleaner options. The Plan is possible because Utah is a beneficiary of over $35 million from the VW environmental Trust – Part of a settlement with VW for violations of the Clean Air Act. Statewide, with  on preference given to projects in PM2.5 and Ozone Nonattainment areas Lisa Burr
Wood Stove Conversion Assistance Program This program creates incentives for individuals to convert their wood stoves to cleaner heating devices or to turn in a wood stove for a bounty. PM2.5 Nonattainment Counties Joel Karmazyn
Workplace Electric Vehicle Charging Funding Assistance Program(EVSE) The EV Charging Incentive Program allow businesses, non-profits, and non-state government to apply for a grant that will cover the purchase and install of EV chargers. Funds will be used for the purchase of Level 2 or DC fast charging EV chargers.  Statewide Mat Carlile