Division Links

Mandatory No Burn Days:
Stationary Source Compliance

The Utah Division of Air Quality issues mandatory no burn actions when fine particulate pollution builds up to unhealthy levels during winter inversions. While these no-burn days are typically called during the winter inversion season of November 1st to March 1st, they may be called anytime throughout the year. State regulations prohibit residents from burning wood or coal on no burn days.

Regulations cover Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah, and Weber Counties and include fireplaces and wood, pellet, and coal burning stoves.

Prohibited on No Burn Days

  • Wood Fireplaces
  • Wood Stoves (both EPA certified and non-certified)
  • Pellet Stoves
  • Coal Burning Stoves

Acceptable on No Burn Days

  • Natural Gas Appliances and Propane Stoves


The Division of Air Quality vigorously enforces no burn actions. Compliance officers monitor neighborhoods using infrared cameras that can detect heat plumes even when there is no visible smoke. Officers assess fines of up to $150 to households found violating the ban.

Action Alerts

The Division of Air Quality operates air monitoring equipment that measures the concentration of PM2.5 in the atmosphere. DAQ uses this information, along with weather forecasting and computer modeling, to determine the action level for solid fuel burning devices.

The Division reports current action levels twice a day to local media outlets such as newspapers, TV, and radio stations. DAQ posts action levels on its Website. Residents can register to receive free Email air quality alerts or download the UtahAir app for Androids (Google Play) and iPhones (Apple Apps store, coming soon) to get the latest information on current conditions and air quality actions by county.

Action Levels

Burn Action Level

  • Unrestricted Action: Wood, pellet and coal burning stoves and fireplaces may be used but please use them in a proper manner to reduce smoke emissions.
  • Voluntary Action: Voluntarily do not use wood, pellet, coal burning stoves or fireplaces.
  • Mandatory Action: Wood, pellet and coal burning stoves or fireplaces are prohibited.

The three action levels affect all residents living in the following areas:

  • All regions of Salt Lake and Davis counties.
  • All portions of the Cache Valley.
  • All regions in Weber and Utah counties west of the Wasatch mountain range.
  • In Box Elder County, from the Wasatch mountain range west to the Promontory mountain range and south of Portage.
  • In Tooele County, from the northernmost part of the Oquirrh mountain range to the northern most part of the Stansbury mountain range and north of Route 199.
Sole Source Map: No Burn Days

Sole Source Registration

No solid fuel burning devices, such as fireplaces, wood burning stoves, pellet stoves, and coal burning stoves (including EPA certified units) are allowed to burn during a mandatory action period unless the device was registered as a sole source of heating for the residence with the Director of the Division of Air Quality.

Contact Information

Contact the Division of Air Quality with questions or complaints:

Or visit:

Last Updated:

Back to top