This page contains information intended to help interested parties become familiar with the Certification Program and related upcoming events. If you have further questions about the program, phone (801) 536-4344, or send an Email. Rules governing this program can be found in the Utah Administrative Code, R317-10.
Proposed changes to the Wastewater Operator Certification Fees to become effective July 1, 2021, are currently available for public comment through September 24, 2020, prior to being presented to the legislature for approval. Check here for more information on the Public Hearing-Fiscal Year 2022 (315 KB) and the DEQ Fee Schedule (254 KB). These fees are found on page 12 of the schedule. Please note that the “total” maximum reinstatement charge, including the renewal fee and the renewal of lapsed certificate fee, will be $200 since the fee increases by $50 for up to three months following the expiration date before reaching the maximum.
The recent proposed changes to Rule R317-10, Certification of Wastewater Works Operators, were made effective on January 24, 2018. The official public notice and text of the changes are available on the Division of Administrative Rules Website.
- Application Forms
Where do I get them? (For exams, renewals, change in status, reciprocity, certification fees, and Citizenship/Alien ID Certification (859 KB).)
- Becoming a Wastewater Operator (148 KB)
How do I become a wastewater operator in Utah?
- Certification Fees
Certification fees were approved by the legislature and went into effect on July 1, 2009.
- Certified in Another State (22 KB)
If I’m certified in another state, do I still need to take a Utah exam? (More details on reciprocity.)
- Citizenship/Alien ID Certification | PDF (859 KB)| DOC (24 KB)
DWQ is required to verify the lawful presence in the United States of an individual at least 18 years of age who has applied for Wastewater Operator certification. This form must be completed, notarized, and submitted to the Division along with a copy of photo identification.
- Continuing Education Units (CEUs)
- What is a Continuing Education Unit (CEU)?
- How do I receive credit for a CEU?
- Current CEU Status(169 KB)
- Grandfather Certification
In the early years of the Wastewater Operator Certification Program, certifications were issued without testing to individuals in Direct Responsible Charge of publicly owned wastewater works. More details…
- 317-10: Recent Changes
(Effective 1/24/18) Text of changes as found on DAR Website.
- Renewal of Certification
Only current wastewater certifications may be “renewed”. If a certificate has expired, it may be “reinstated” by using the “Renewal” or “Change in Status with Renewal” application forms within one year after certificate expiration. Conditions of renewal or reinstatement are: 1) meet the continuing education requirements prior to the certificate expiration date; 2) submit a completed application; and 3) submit the appropriate renewal or reinstatement fee to the Division of Water Quality.
- Training Calendar: Online
When are water and wastewater training classes scheduled in Utah? (Provided by Utah Water and Wastewater Operator Training Coalition.)
- Permit Wizard
A tool designed to assist individuals and companies involved in activities regulated by DEQ to identify the permits, licenses, registrations, and certifications required for those activities.
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
- Phone: (801) 536-4344
- FAX: (801) 536-4301
Wastewater Operator Certification
Division of Water Quality
P.O. Box 144870
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4870
Division of Water Quality
Multi-Agency State Office Building (MASOB)
195 North 1950 West, DEQ 3rd Floor
Salt Lake City, Utah 84116