Water Quality Board Sudweeks Award

Each year, the Utah Water Quality Board considers recommendations for presentation of the Sudweeks Award. The individuals are recognized for contributions to Water Quality using the following criteria:

  • The recipient has shown leadership and achievement in the field of water pollution control and/or water quality improvement in the State of Utah. These achievements have been through their employment, through work with volunteer organizations, or as a private citizen. These achievements may have been exhibited at the local, state, or national level.
  • The recipient has shown qualities of professionalism, personal integrity, and dedication to the goals and principles of improved water quality in the State of Utah.

Recipients of the Calvin K. Sudweeks Award

Year Name
2020 Sharon Burton, Operations Supervisor, Central Valley Water Reclamation Facility
Lonn Rasmussen, Operations Supervisor,  Cottonwood Improvement District
2019 Judith Sims, Coordinator of Utah State University On-Site Wastewater Treatment Training Program
2018 Walter Baker, Former DWQ Director
2017 No award this year.
2016 Dale Pierson, Executive Director of the Rural Water Association of Utah
2015 Dr. Sam Rushforth, Utah Valley University, Dean of the College of Science and Health
2014 Jack Barnett – Colorado River Basin Salinity Forum
2013 Terral Dunn – Western States Water
2012 Ogden City—Weber River Restoration Project
2011 No award this year.
2010 Ann Peralta—Bear River/Cutler Reservoir Advisory Committee
2009 Nancy Mesner—USU Extension Water Quality Specialist and Associate Dean
2008 Mike Lowe and Janae Wallace—Utah Geological Survey
2007 George Hopkins—Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
2006 Lynn de Freitas—Friends of Great Salt Lake
2005 Don Ostler—Former DWQ Director
2004 Booth Wallentine—Farm Bureau
2003 No award this year.
2002 Jerold Richins
2001 Fred Finlinson—Former Member of the Water Quality Board; and,
Rex Ausburn—Former Member of the Water Quality Board
2000 Bill Luce—Hansen, Allen & Luce
1999 Max Dodson—US EPA Region 8
1998 Phil Wright—Wasatch County Health Department; and,
Dwight Hill—Utah County Health Department
1997 Glenn Eurick—Barrick Resources
1996 Reed Fisher—Central Valley Water Reclamation Facility
1995 Leland Myers—Central Davis County Sewer District
1994 Bill Farmer—Salt Lake City
1993 Grant Borg—Former member of the Water Quality Board
1992 Ray Loveless—Mountainland Association of Governments
1991 Steven Jensen—Salt Lake County
1990 Garland Mayne—Timpanogos Special Service District
1989 Bob Mathis—Wasatch County Planner
1988 Jon Adams—Brigham City plant manager